Friday, January 17, 2020
Text Size
Template Color

The Federation of Malaysia comprises of Peninsular Malaysia, and the states of Sabah and Sarawak on the island of Borneo.

Situated between 2?and 7?to the North of the Equator line, Peninsular Malaysia is separated from Sabah and Sarawak by the South China Sea. In the northern part of Peninsular Malaysia lies Thailand, and in the south, neighbouring Singapore. Sabah and Sarawak are bounded by Indonesia while Sarawak also shares borders with Brunei.

Malaysia has a total area of 329,758 square kilometers.

The population of the country is 28.3 million as of year 2009.

Time Zone
UTC / GMT +8 hours

(Bahasa Melayu) Malay is the national language in use, but English is widely spoken. The ethnic groups also converse in the various languages and dialects.

Islam is the official religion of the country, but other religions are widely practised. Malays comprise 57% of the population, while the Chinese, Indian and Bumiputeras and other races make up the rest of the country's population.

The country experiences tropical weather year-round. Temperatures are from 21°C to 32°C. Higher elevations are much colder with temperatures between 15°C to 25°C. Annual rainfall varies from 2,000mm to 2,500mm.

Currency Ringgit Malaysia (RM)
Notes: RM1, RM2, RM5, RM10, RM50 and RM100
Coins: 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents

Country Dialing Code + 60

Electricity 220 - 240 volts, 50Hz
British-style plug with two flat blades and one flat grounding blade

On entry to Bali, each adult is allowed to bring in tax-free a maximum of one liter of alcoholic beverages and 200 cigarettes or 50 cigars or 100 grams of tobacco. There is no restriction on the movement of foreign currencies in and out of the country. On entry or departure, however, you are allowed to carry no more than 50,000 Indonesian Rupiah.

Airport Tax
Passengers departing on international flights have to pay an airport tax of 150,000 Indonesian Rupiah.